Bard Graduate Center Logo
  Banner Image

Join Us for the 25th Annual Iris Foundation Awards Luncheon

Deborah and Philip English – Outstanding Patrons
Dr. Helen C. Evans – Outstanding Lifetime Achievement
Dr. Anne Lafont – Outstanding Mid-Career Scholar
Barbara Israel – Outstanding Dealer

Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Noon until 2:30 pm (EST)
The Colony Club, Park Avenue, New York City, New York

If you have questions about the Iris Foundation Awards, contact Benjamin Krevolin, chief advancement officer, or Minna Lee, associate director of development. Benjamin can be reached at 212-501-3072 or, and Minna can be reached at 212-501-3038 or

In 1997, Susan Weber created the Iris Foundation Awards to recognize scholars, patrons, and professionals who have made outstanding contributions to the fields of decorative arts, design history, and material culture. Proceeds benefit the Bard Graduate Center Scholarship Fund.

Click here for past Iris Foundation Award recipients.


Dr. Susan Weber, Founder and Director of Bard Graduate Center
and the Bard Graduate Center Board of Trustees

Event Chair
Deborah Miller Zabel

Jan and Warren Adelson – Patricia and Tom Barry – Michele Beiny-Harkins – Ellie and Edgar Cullman – Susan Cullman – Lucy and Mike Danziger – Peggy and Dick Danziger – Nancy and Michael Druckman – Suzanne and John Golden – Ana Horta-Osório – Holly Hotchner – Mary Jaharis – McMillen Inc. – David Mann – Vera Mayer – Barbara Nessim and Jules Demchick – Ann Pyne, MA ‘06 – Judy Steinhardt – Bonnie and Tom Strauss – Deedee and Barrie Wigmore – The Hon. Kimba Wood and Frank E. Richardson

Host Committee
Catherine Brawer – Elizabeth A. R. Brown – Emmelyn Butterfield-Rosen – Edward Lee Cave* – Brandy S. Culp, MA ‘04 – Tim Ettenheim – Patricia Farman-Farmaian – Edward Flower – Ani and Mark Gabrellian* – Agnes Gund – Lewis Haber – Titi Halle – Vivian Hame Barg – Philip Hewat-Jaboor – Max Hollein – Nancy Ann and Samuel Karetsky* – Wolfram Koeppe – Benjamin Krevolin – Minna Lee and James Summitt, Jr. – Martin P. Levy – Reeva Mager – Griffith Mann – Olivier Meslay – Philippe de Montebello – Steven Nelson – Jennifer Olshin, MA ‘98 – Melinda Florian Papp* – Lisa Beth Podos – Sir Paul Ruddock – Connie and Ted Roosevelt – Janie Woo Scher and Stephen K. Scher – Lowery Stokes Sims – Ellen C. Stein* – Wendy A. Stein* – Ellen and William Taubman* – Patricia Ross Weis – Shelby White

*25th Anniversary Circle

The Iris Foundation Awards Lecture
Making Ornamental Africa: An Enlightenment Process
April 26, 2022 6–7:30 pm Dr. Lafont’s talk will focus on some objects whose material, form, argument, use, and reception invite us not only to historicize the notion of African art, but also to identify the registers of categorization specific to this pivotal eighteenth-century moment, when both anthropology and aesthetics were invented. Learn More Button
Exhibition Image